25 islands selected for project-specific support

Published on 23.09.2019
Solar panels (Photo: skeeze, Pixabay)

The EU Islands Secretariat will support 25 islands to advance the technical and financial planning for their clean energy projects over the coming months.

The islands selected include

  • Cres-Losinj, Dugi Otok, Korcula, Zirje (Croatia)
  • Cyprus
  • Fur (Denmark)
  • Marie-Galante, Ile de Sein (France)
  • Kythira, Spetses, Kassos (Greece)
  • Aran Islands, Bere, Cape Clear, Ceantar na nOileàn, Valentia Island (Ireland)
  • Salina (Italy)
  • Curaçao (Netherlands)
  • Azores, Culatra (Portugal)
  • La Palma, Menorca, Mallorca (Spain)
  • Isle of Mull, Off Grid Scottish Islands (Scotland)


The support covers a range of projects, from the identification phase such as mapping of potential renewable energy sources up to project development such as design review for preparation of due diligence.